Ind vs Nz T20 highlights : Rohit Sharma’s last-ball six in Super Over gives India first T20I series.

NZ won the toss and invited India to bat.

Toss : New Zealand won a third consecutive Toss, but this time it chose to launch. The hosts made a change with Scott Kuggeleijn as Blair Tickner. India remained unchanged in the Ind vs Nz T20 match.

First innings: Rohit Sharma scored 65 runs of 40 balls while India reached 179/5. Rohit’s bombing included six four and three six while doing 89 runs for the first wicket with KL Rahul (27 of 19 balls).

Colin de Grandhomme claimed the wicket of Rahul. Shivam dube came to bat at no 3. He got out after facing 7 laborious deliveries. This sucked the momentum in the Indian innings score. Rohit got into pressure at the other end. He miscued a wrong delivery from Bennet. India lost three wickets for seven runs in the span of three overs.

Captain Virat Kohli (38 of 27 balls) and Shreyas Iyer (17 of 16 balls) attempted to resuscitate the innings with an association of 46 runs for the fourth wicket. Iyer’s dismissal was the turning point, baffled by Mitchell Santner (1/37) in 17. Two overs later, Kohli was caught in extra cover.

Manish Pandey (14 not out) and Ravindra Jadeja (10 not out) pushed the score beyond 170, but India did not reach a score of 200..

India set New zealand a target of 180 to win.

2nd Innings: chasing 180, the Kiwis had a vertiginous start with the Colin Munro and Martin Guptill starters with all the weapons lit from the start. Guptill made his intentions with a six of Shardul Thakur in the first on himself. However, it was Thakur who laughed later when he got rid of Guptill (31 of 24 balls). This was an innocuous delivery in the last over of the power game. Munro did the same when Ravindra Jadeja left him perplexed (14 of 16 balls) in the next.

Like the decision of India to send Shivam Dube upward in order, the Kiwis’ decision to send Mitchell Santner also failed to reap any rewards. He left for only 9 of 11 balls. But from there, Captain Kane Williamson took over and scored a 95 of 48 balls. It was his blow that brought New Zealand to the brink of victory, but a brilliant pass by Mohammad Shami led the game to the Super Over. In the Super Over, New Zealand scored 17, a goal that India overcame in the final ball with Rohit crushing Tim Southee for two consecutive six in the Ind vs Nz t20 match.

Brief Score:

India- 179/5 in 20 overs. (R Sharma 65, V Kohli 38, KL Rahul 27; Hamish Bennett 3/54.

New Zealand- 179/6 in 20 overs (Kane Williamson 95; Shardul Thakur 2/21).

Related Articles

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.